Australian Museum Malacology

Malacology is the study of the group of animals called molluscs. Molluscs include chitons, clams, mussels, snails, nudibranchs (sea slugs), tusk shells, octopus and squid. The Australian Museum Malacology collection is one of the world's largest of its kind, covering all groups of recent (up to 1.6 million year old) and tertiary (65-1.6 million year old) molluscs. Many of the specimens are dry shells, but there is also a large collection of preserved molluscs. The collections date from the 1860s and include marine, terrestrial and freshwater molluscs. They are predominantly from Australia and the south-west Pacific, but also include specimens from other parts of the world.

5% Complete
24% Complete
5% Validated
29% Transcribed
58 Tasks

2 ExpeditionsUnderway

0 ExpeditionsCompleted

All Expeditions
Showing 2 expeditions

Danielle Test 30.10.2020

40% Complete (success)
0% Transcribed
40% Validated
40% Transcribed
5 Tasks

Danielle Test 16.11.2020

0% Complete (success)
66% Transcribed
0% Validated
66% Transcribed
3 Tasks

Australian Museum Malacology Stats

{{transcriberCount}} Volunteers

{{completedTasks}} tasks of {{totalTasks}} completed

Honour Board

Day Tripper View Top 20
{{}} {{daily.score}}
Weekly Wonder View Top 20
{{}} {{weekly.score}}
Monthly Maestro View Top 20
{{}} {{monthly.score}}
Australian Museum Malacology Legend View Top 20
{{}} {{alltime.score}}

Latest Contributions

Why you should get involved?

Contribute to knowledge

Help researchers better understand the diversity of plant and animal life.

Be an online volunteer

Be part of an active community that supports and contributes to science and culture.

Make data accessible

Unlock collections and extend the reach of information around the world.

Institutions using DigiVol